The Cycle of Spiritual and Moral Decline

Written by Andrew Rappaport

July 9, 2019

There is a cycle to the book of Judges. There are 7 cycles represented by the 13 judges. Each cycle contains four elements:

  1. Israel’s disobedience
  2. Oppression at the hands of their neighbors because of their disobedience
  3. Israel repentance and crying out to the Lord for deliverance
  4. God delivers Israel by sending a judge

However, each cycle is short lived and usually ends with the life of the judge. Each cycle also progresses the overall disobedience of Israel. There are five basic reasons for the cycles of Israel’s moral and spiritual decline:

  1. Disobedience in failing to drive the Canaanites out of the Land (Judg. 1:19, 21, 35)
  2. Idolatry (2:12)
  3. Intermarriage with wicked Canaanites (3:5, 6)
  4. Not heeding judges (2:17)
  5. Turning away from God after the death of the judges (2:19).

Rapp Report Daily 0352

This podcast is a ministry of Striving for Eternity and all our resources

Listen to other podcasts on the Christian Podcast Community:

Support Striving for Eternity at

Please review us on iTunes

Give us your feedback, email us

Like us on Facebook at

Join the conversation in our Facebook group at

Watch subscribe to us on YouTube at

Get the book What Do They Believe at

Get the book What Do We Believe at

You May Also Like…

Moses Was Adopted

Moses Was Adopted

Now a man from the house of Levi went and took as his wife a Levite woman. 2 The woman conceived and bore a son,...

Jude 1:5-7

Jude 1:5-7

“5 Now I desire to remind you, though you know all things once for all, that the Lord, after saving a people out of...